Our Team


Leana Boven, curator
Binna Choi, director
Luke Cohlen, communication, website & campaign
Ki Hyun Park, artist at work (until May 2022)
Staci Bu Shea, curator (until May 2022)
Marianna Takou, producer
Erik Uitenbogaard, head of diverse economies

Click the respective names to send a personal email.


Victoire Raffy, communications intern (February 2022–July 2022)
Sophia Park (May 2022–June 2022)
Anna Dupont-Crabtree, research intern (February 2021–August 2021)
Niamh Hermsen, archive intern (September 2020–May 2021)
Rebecca Boswell, curatorial intern (April–July 2020)
Sun Chang, intern (November 2019–March 2020)

External advisors

Ying Que, researcher
Valentijn Brouwer, finances / controlling
Josje Rövekamp, HR-advice


Tim van Elferen, Thomas de Kroon, Jochem van Grieken, Julian Stolwerk, installation
Clementine Edwards, Liz Allan, Cannach MacBride, Caroline Woolard, editors
Rosa Paardenkooper, Loes van Beuningen, translators
David Bennewith/colophon.info, graphic design
Oygar Erdal / Dietwee, webdesign and programming
Tal Daniel / WP Concepts, web-maintenance
Xalil Abdullah, Niels Moolenaar, Rachel Morón, Martha Stroo, Angela Tellier, photography
Valentijn Brouwer, financial advisor

Laura Casanovas, Yota Celenti, Sanne Coopmans, Laura Cuzzocrea, Amelie Eckersley, Agustin Faundez Rojas, Ana Flores Giráldez, Mafalda Gomes, Aneesha Goswami, Amy Gowen, Charli Herrington, Gordon H. Williams, Patricia Jiménez López, Ingrid Kramer, Una Mc Auley, Sophie Mak-Schram, Serena Medici, Abhaya Mistry, Egoyibo Okoro, Shannon O’Reilly, Rekana Owan Isong, Amy Pekal, Pieter du Plessis, Ellyse Randrup, Laura Sanchez Mera, Gentry Tsiatsiou, Roos van Unen, Jorge Vitorino; hosts & volunteers


Ansuya Blom, board member and artist (appointed April 1 2022)
Charles Esche, chairman and director Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven (until April 1 2022, due to end of term)
Pascale Gatzen, artist and head of MA Practice Held in Common, ArtEZ (appointed April 1 2022)
Aetzel Griffioen, board member, Head Coordinator of Rotterdam Vakmanstad and teacher of philosophy at an elementary school (until April 1 2022, due to end of term)
Martijn Jeroen van der Linden, treasurer and deputy chairman lecturer New Finance at The Hague University and PhD candidate at Delft University of Technology
Wendelien van Oldenborgh, board member and artist (until April 1 2022, due to end of term)
Irene van Renswoude, secretary and professor of Manuscripts and Cultural History, University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Humanities

The board of Casco endorses the Governance Code Cultuur 2019 and applies it in practice together with the director and the other team members of Casco Art Institute. The composition of the board takes into account the nature of the foundation, its activities and the desired expertise, diversity, independence and background. The profile of the board is periodically evaluated by the board, but in any case when a vacancy needs to be filled. Membership of the board is incompatible with the position of director or employee of the foundation. The board carries out its duties on an unpaid basis, meets on average four times a year and supports the team where necessary.

Casco Art Institute’s program is made possible with regular financial support by Gemeente Utrecht, Mondriaan Fonds, and Stichting DOEN via Arts Collaboratory. The additional funds come from European Union Creative Europe, Foundation for Arts Initiatives, K.F. Hein and Province Utrecht.